You are here: Home / Topics / Features of Yajurveda

Features of Yajurveda

Filed under: History Ancient History on 2021-06-11 14:12:02
#. It has two types – Krishna (Black/Dark) & Shukla (White/Bright).

# Krishna Yajurveda has an un-arranged, unclear, motley collection of verses.

# Shukla Yajurveda has arranged and clear verses.

# The oldest layer of Yajurveda has 1875 verses mostly taken up from Rigveda.

# The middle layer of the Veda has Satapatha Brahmana which is a commentary of Shukla Yajurveda.

# The youngest layer of Yajurveda consists of various Upanishads – Brihadaranyaka Upanishad, the Isha Upanishad, the Taittiriya Upanishad, the Katha Upanishad, the Shvetashvatara Upanishad and the Maitri Upanishad.

# Vajasaneyi Samhita is the Samhita in the Shukla Yajurveda.

# There are four surviving recensions of the Krishna Yajurveda – Taittiriya saṃhita, Maitrayani saṃhita, Kaṭha saṃhita, and Kapisthala saṃhita.
About Author:
Sandeep     View Profile
Hi, I am using MCQ Buddy. I love to share content on this website.