You are here: Home / Topics / Types of Vedas

Types of Vedas

Filed under: History Ancient History on 2021-06-11 14:06:32
There are four types of Vedas – Rigveda, Samaveda, Yajurveda, and Atharvaveda. One of the best sources of Ancient Indian History is Vedic literature. Vedas have formed the Indian scripture. The ideas and practices of Vedic religion are codified by the Vedas and they also form the basis of classical Hinduism.

Rig Veda - It is the earliest form of Veda.
Samaveda - The earliest reference for singing.
Yajurveda - It is also called the book of prayers.
Atharvaveda - The book of magic and charms.


The oldest Veda is the Rigveda. It has 1028 hymns called ‘Suktas’ and is a collection of 10 books called ‘Mandalas.’


Known as the Veda of melodies and chants, Samaveda dates back to 1200-800 BCE. This Veda is related to public worship. 


Stands to mean ‘Worship Knowledge’, Yajurveda dates back to 1100-800 BCE; corresponding with Samaveda. It compiles ritual-offering mantras/chants. These chants were offered by the priest alongside a person who used to perform a ritual (in most cases yajna fire.)


Stands to mean a tatpurusha compound of Atharvan, an ancient sage, and knowledge (atharvan+knowledge), it dates back to 1000-800 BCE.
About Author:
Pradeep Sikarwar     View Profile
Hi, I am using MCQ Buddy. I love to share content on this website.