You are here: Home / Topics / Types of Vedic Literature

Types of Vedic Literature

Filed under: History Ancient History on 2021-06-11 20:29:43
There are broadly two types of Vedic literature:

Shruti Literature – The word ‘Shruti’ from the term ‘Shruti Literature’ means ‘to hear’ and describes the sacred texts which comprise of Vedas, Brahmanas, Aranyakas, & Upanishads. Shruti Literature is canonical, consisting of revelation and unquestionable truth, and is considered eternal.

Smriti Literature – Whereas, the word ‘Smiriti’ literally means to be remembered and which is supplementary and may change over time. Smriti Literature is the entire body of the post-Vedic Classical Sanskrit literature and consists of Vedanga, Shad darsana, Puranas, Itihasa, Upveda, Tantras, Agamas, Upangas. 

The Vedic literature can be classified into the following categories:

# The four Vedas i.e. the Rig, Sama, Yajur, and Atharva, and their Samhitas.
# The Brahmanas
# The Aranyakas
# The Upanishads
About Author:
Madan     View Profile
Never judge too early.