You are here: Home / Topics / The Magadha Empire

The Magadha Empire

Filed under: History Magadha Empire on 2021-06-13 14:14:28
The Magadha Empire encompasses the rule of three dynasties over time – Haryanka Dynasty, Shishunaga Dynasty, and Nanda Dynasty. The timeline of the Magadha Empire is estimated to be from 684 BCE to 320 BCE.

Rise of Magadha Notes for UPSC Exam
The four Mahajanapadas – Magadha, Kosala, Avanti and Vatsa were vying for supremacy from the 6th century BCE to the 4th century BCE. Finally, Magadha emerged victorious and was able to gain sovereignty. It became the most powerful state in ancient India. Magadha is situated in modern Bihar. Jarasandha, who was a descendant of Brihadratha, founded the empire in Magadha. Both are talked about in the Mahabharata.

# Magadha Empire – Haryanka Dynasty:
The first important and powerful dynasty in Magadha was the Haryanka dynasty.

# Magadha Empire – Sisunaga Dynasty:
According to Sri Lankan chronicles, the people of Magadha revolted during the reign of Nagadasaka and placed an amatya (minister) named Sisunaga as the king. Sisunaga dynasty lasted from 413 BCE to 345 BCE.

# Magadha Empire – Nanda Dynasty: 
This was the first non-Kshatriya dynasty and it lasted from 345 BCE to 321 BCE. The first ruler was Mahapadma Nanda who usurped the throne of Kalasoka.
About Author:
Chandani     View Profile
Hi, I am using MCQ Buddy. I love to share content on this website.